What to Buy for Healthy College Snacking

in the metro (1)

Disclaimer: I wasn’t paid by any of these companies to promote these  products. All recommendations are because I truly believe in them.

– /// –

When you’re on a low college budget, it can be easy to pick up some mac n’ cheese cups and ravioli for your meals. I’ve even had the problem of buying things I thought were healthy, only to find out I was eating junk the entire time. If reading nutrition labels isn’t really your forte, then keep reading to find out good and healthy choices for snacking!

– /// –

With each product I’ll be showing I’ll also include their Fooducate score. Fooducate is a great app for those who are trying to eat healthy but aren’t great at reading those nutrition labels. You scan the barcode of whatever you’re looking at, and it’ll give you a grade based on how healthy the product is for you. A+ is outstanding, while obviously F is absolute junk, and personally I’ve never seen an F so they must be pretty bad!

Skinny Pop Popcorn // Rating: A-

Okay so a lot of popcorn is good for you, so you don’t have to necessarily choose this brand. However I like being able to eat out of a bag or pre-popped popcorn rather than getting it from the microwave, I have no idea why but it is the way it is. If you’re looking for a bag you can get out of the microwave, Fooducate recommends air-popped popcorn.

Sargento Mozzarella Cheese Sticks // Rating: B+

Cheese sticks are usually the same as popcorn, no matter the kind it’ll be fairly healthy. However these cheese sticks are delicious and they get my recommendation for the ones to get. They can be a little pricier than other cheese sticks though, so if you want to cut the price you can try your supermarket brand and see the rating they’ll get.

Chobani Greek Yogurt Non-Fat // Rating: A-

This particular yogurt is the one with the strawberry on the bottom, however I imagine all the flavors have around the same rating. I’m not a huge fan of greek yogurt alone but when it’s mixed with fruit it’s delicious. Greek yogurt is by far one of the healthiest snacks you could have, so definitely grab some!

VitaMuffin Deep Chocolate Vita Tops // Rating: B

All of the chocolate lovers out there, this one’s for you! These little snacks are perfect for beating the sugar craving without breaking your diet. They’re 100 calories per serving and have really great reviews, although I haven’t tried them myself. If you have tried them let me know what you think!

Giant Protein Granola Bars // Rating: B

Granola bars can really be a hit or miss. There are a lot of great ones, like KIND, Clif, and Nature Valley bars, however if you live near a Giant I would suggest getting their protein bars. They have around the same ratings as the more expensive brands, and they’re gonna be way cheaper.

– /// –

These are just a few of my favorite snacks for college. There are tons more out there, like fresh fruits, vegetables, and so on, but I wanted to include some simple and ready-to-go snacks to easily bring to class. I hope you liked my recommendations and that you try them out!

Leave a Reply

